About Migori County Assembly

Migori county assembly is one of the 47 county assemblies in the Republic of Kenya established under article 176(1) of the Constitution of Kenya 2010. The Assembly is the Legislative Arm of the County and draws its mandate and authority from the provisions of Article 185 of the Constitution.The mandate of the county assembly is legislation, representation and oversight. The pioneer  leadership of the county assembly assumed office after the general election of 4th March, 2013. Migori County  Assembly is located in Migori Town opposite The GK Prison at the County Headquarters occupying the old County Council Hall that belonged to the defunct Migori County Council. Migori County constitutes 8 Constituencies; Rongo, Awendo, Uriri, Suna East, Suna West, Nyatike, Kuria West, Kuria East and a total of forty Wards.

Migori county Assembly is the legislative arm of county government of Migori and plays the following roles:

  • Vet and approve nominees for appointment to county public offices as may be provided for in this Act or any other law.
  • Perform the roles set out under Article 185 of the Constitution.
  • Approve the budget and expenditure of the county government in accordance with Article 207 of the Constitution, and the legislation contemplated in Article 220(2) of the Constitution, guided by Articles 201 and 203 of the Constitution.
  • Approve the borrowing by the county government in accordance with Article 212 of the Constitution.
  • Approve county development planning; and
  • Perform any other role as may be set out under the Constitution or legislation.

Migori County Assembly consists of 58 Members, who include 40 Ward Representatives, each elected by the registered voters of the wards, Seventeen (17) members are nominated by the County Assembly political parties according to their proportional representation in the County Assembly to represent special interests including persons with disabilities, minorities and the youth, and the Hon. Speaker elected from outside the House.